DWI Defense Attorneys Serving Maryland
Maryland is one of the few states that differentiates impaired driving charges based on BAC levels among other things. These two charges are DUI and DWI with DWI being the lesser charge in terms of fines, penalties, license suspension, etc. You may be charged with DWI if you displayed an altered state, poor motor skills, were on drugs and not drunk on alcohol. These is less that has to be proven in court when facing a Maryland DWI charge. Our Maryland DWI defense attorneys know all about Maryland DWI laws and what needs to be done to get you out of this messy situation with as little consequences as possible.
Please click here to contact our Columbia, Maryland DWI lawyers. They offer free case reviews and serve Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County and Howard County, MD.
Mandatory Minimum Sentences For Maryland DWI Convictions
First offense: up to 2 months in jail, $500 fine and 6 months license suspension
Second offense: up to 1 year in jail, $500 fine and up to 9 months license suspension
Third offense: up to 5 years in jail, up to $5,000 fine and up to 12 months license suspension
Aggravating Factors Leading To Enhanced Penalties
Maryland has several scenarios that, if happen at time of arrest, will lead to much more severe charges even for a first time offense. These can include a subsequent offense, DUI with child in the car, DUI involving property damage, injury, an auto accident or wrongful death.
Also, if you were caught with an illegally obtained weapon in vehicle, you had drugs in your vehicle or were near a school you will be looking at very harsh penalties.
Please connect with our Jessup, Maryland DWI defense lawyers. They will explain your rights to you and do everything necessary to help you beat the charges. At the very least they will minimize the negative consequences of your pending charges.